Amigurumi: Funny Word But OH So Addictive

bunny

I’d have to say that 2014 has been an interesting year for me in the crochet world. Besides being hooked on Pinterest, I have been bitten by the bug in trying my hands in making amigurumi figures. All thanks to Mikey and The Crochet Crowd in the first Mystery Crochet Along: Giraffe.

Since this challenge I have made 4 giraffes (I sold 2 to a coworker), in which I have given the names – Pixie, Dixie, Angel & George, and I’m in the middle of making a monkey, cat, dog and an alligator if I can find one I like for my nieces and nephews.

Who else enjoys the thrill of that new item, or stitch just learned and you can’t stop doing it over and over? Believe me my very first amigurumi looked like a Gremlin instead of a cute little bunny rabbit!! 🙂

There are some great “How to” videos on making amigurumi on You-Tube, and I’ve saved some of my favorites on my Pinterest Board.

If you’ve ever tried Amigurumi what are your thoughts on making them?

* Do you find them intimidating to make?
* Would you describe them as pretty easy or pretty tough or does it matter about the pattern when it comes to rating the difficulty level?
* Do you enjoy making them but prefer other crochet projects instead?
* You can’t get enough of them and make it your Go To Project most of the time?

So let’s be creative and see what we can do. Post your pics, I would love to see your new creations!

“If you never did you should. These things are fun, and fun is good” Dr Suess

Until next time.. Your fellow crochet-aholic signing off. Bobbie Asche

5 thoughts on “Amigurumi: Funny Word But OH So Addictive

  1. vee1331 says:

    I’ve tried this. Made a pirate for a friend’s baby shower, done a couple of ninjas, a hippo, and at one point started a pirate ship, but had to abandon it when I couldn’t get it stuffed right. They are addicting, but I do think after a few too many, I have to do something else. Once you get the basic idea down, the patterns are pretty easy to make up too! Your bunny is too cute!

    Like

Leave a Reply

